What country borders Portugal?

Question: What country borders Portugal?

Show answer


Portugal, located on the Iberian Peninsula in southwestern Europe, shares its land border with only one country – Spain. This makes Portugal one of the countries with the fewest bordering nations in the world.

Spain lies to the east and north of Portugal, and the border between the two countries, known as “La Raya” in Spanish and “A Raia” in Portuguese, is one of the longest uninterrupted borders within the European Union. The border stretches approximately 1,214 kilometers (754 miles) in length.

Although Portugal only borders one country by land, it has a vast coastline along the Atlantic Ocean to the west and south. This has significantly influenced Portugal’s history and culture, with the nation playing a crucial role in world exploration and maritime trade during the Age of Discovery.

The relationship between Spain and Portugal has been characterized by both cooperation and competition over the centuries. Despite periods of conflict and political tension, the two nations have shared a long history of cultural exchange and have been members of the European Union since 1986, cooperating on political, economic, and social issues.