Which U.S. president is on the five-dollar bill?

Question: Which U.S. president is on the five-dollar bill?

Show answer

Abraham Lincoln.

The U.S. five-dollar bill prominently features the 16th president of the United States, Abraham Lincoln. His portrait graces the front of the note, while the reverse side depicts an image of the Lincoln Memorial with a representation of the statue of Lincoln seated inside and two inscriptions of his famous speeches on either side.

Abraham Lincoln, born on February 12, 1809, in a log cabin in Hardin County, Kentucky, remains one of the most revered figures in American history. His leadership during the American Civil War and his efforts to end slavery in the U.S. solidified his place as a champion of civil rights and equality.

Lincoln’s tenure as president was marked by significant challenges, most notably the secession of several Southern states and the subsequent Civil War. His commitment to preserving the Union was unwavering, and he navigated the country through its most divisive and bloody conflict. His Emancipation Proclamation in 1863 declared that all enslaved people in Confederate-held territory were to be set free, a bold move that added moral purpose to the Union cause.

However, his time in office was tragically cut short. Lincoln was assassinated by John Wilkes Booth, a Confederate sympathizer, on April 14, 1865, and died the following day. His death marked the first assassination of a U.S. president.

Lincoln’s legacy endures in various forms – from monuments and memorials to his continued presence on U.S. currency, reminding Americans of the sacrifices made for liberty and union. His leadership, vision, and resilience under tremendous pressure serve as an inspiration and a reminder of the principles upon which the nation was founded.